High Temperature Superconductivity in Iron Pnictides and Chalcogenides

Frontiers of CMP Lecture: Dec. 1 (Tuesday)

Columbia Pupin 329: 4:10 PM EST simulcast from Rice
Rice: SST 106: 3:10 PM CST live
U Oregon Eugene: 1:10 PM PST simulcast from Rice

Speaker: Qimiao Si (Rice University)

 

High Temperature Superconductivity in Iron Pnictides and Chalcogenides

 

The iron-based superconductivity exemplifies physics at the border of antiferromagnetic order. The bad-metal properties observed in the iron pnictides and chalcogenides have provided the basis to consider the microscopic physics of these systems. They suggest that the electron-electron interactions are sufficiently strong to place these metallic systems in proximity to a Mott localization. In this lecture, I will address some essential aspects of both the normal and superconducting states. These include i) the nature of magnetism and its connection with nematicity and quantum criticality; ii) the orbital-selective Mott physics; and iii) the superconducting pairing structure and amplitudes. I will put in this context some of the outstanding puzzles, including the behavior of the bulk FeSe and the nature of the superconducting state in the alkaline iron chalcogenides. I will close by discussing the implications of these studies for potential settings of optimized superconductivity.

When?

Tue, Dec. 1, 2015
3:10 p.m. - 4:10 p.m.
(GMT-0600) US/Central

Where?

Space Science Room 106
Space Science and Technology Bldg - Rice University
Houston, Texas 77005
United States